GPS Trackers · Updated September 2026

Best GPS Trackers for Cats Without Subscription 2026

4 trackers analyzed for no-monthly-fee use · based on specs, manufacturer data & 25,000+ verified owner reviews · Updated September 10, 2026

FTC Disclosure: LimeCats takes no payment from brands and runs no sponsored placements. Reader-supported: when you buy through links on our site, we may earn an Amazon affiliate commission at no extra cost to you. How we pick · Learn more.

Every cat owner who has watched a cat vanish over the garden fence knows the moment: you call, you wait, and nothing comes back. A GPS tracker is the obvious fix. But then comes the fine print. Many of the most popular trackers quietly require a monthly subscription – and a $70 gadget turns into a $300-per-year habit before you know it.

That's why "GPS tracker for cats without subscription" and "no monthly fee cat tracker" are among the most-searched queries in this category. Plenty of listings claim to fit the bill. Few deliver. We analyzed the four trackers most relevant to that search, comparing technical specifications, subscription terms, manufacturer data, and aggregated feedback from 25,000+ verified Amazon owner reviews. The short version: two of them genuinely work with zero recurring fees, one only looks like it does, and one is worth a subscription – if you know what you're paying for. Full breakdown below.

Quick answer: The Pet GPS Tracker Collar (5.0★ from 4,967 verified reviews) is the best no-subscription pick – 1 year of service included, no monthly fees, with real-time GPS, geofence alerts and activity tracking. The AirTag Cat Collar (4.3★ from 12,802 reviews) is the best budget option: no subscription, ever, because it uses Apple's Find My network. One honest warning: the LandAirSea 54 often shows up in "no subscription" searches, but its own Amazon listing says "Subscription Required" – it does not belong on a no-fee list. And Tractive is the best live-tracking tracker here, but only if you accept a mandatory subscription after the 6 free months.

How We Selected & Compared

No-subscription trackers live or die by what you actually get without paying monthly. We compared them on:

  1. True no-fee use: which tracking features work without any subscription, forever
  2. Tracking range & update speed: what you can realistically expect in daily use
  3. Battery life: how long the device lasts between charges
  4. Real cost over two years: including accessories, renewals, and any hidden fees
  5. Owner satisfaction: aggregated ratings from 25,000+ verified Amazon reviews

This is a spec- and data-based analysis, not a hands-on lab test. We don't claim to have strapped every device to a test cat for weeks – we compare what's verifiable: manufacturer specifications, listing terms, and aggregated owner feedback. Where the terms are unclear, we say so rather than guess.

What "No Subscription" Actually Means

Before picking a product, it helps to understand why subscriptions exist in the first place. Real GPS trackers locate your cat via satellites, but they transmit that location over cellular networks – and cell data costs the manufacturer money. Someone has to pay, and in most cases that someone is you.

That leaves three honest ways to track a cat without a recurring monthly fee – plus one trap to avoid:

So the honest question isn't "does it have a subscription?" but "will it still work – with full features – in year two, and at what price?" The two picks below are the ones where the numbers genuinely add up. If you'd rather weigh the free route against paid live tracking side by side, our Tractive vs. AirTag comparison walks through that decision in detail, and the full GPS tracker guide covers the paid options end to end.

The 2 Best Cat GPS Trackers Without Subscription

1

Pet GPS Tracker Collar for Cats & Small Dogs

Best No-Subscription
Pet GPS Tracker Collar for Cats and Small Dogs
$90–1301 year service included, no monthly feesWaterproofiOS & Android app
Price range
$90–130
Subscription
1 year included – no monthly fees

★ 5.0/5 from 4,967 verified Amazon reviews – the highest-rated product in this analysis. The selling point is right in the name: 1 year of service included, no monthly fees. You pay once and get real-time GPS location, geofence alerts, waterproofing, and activity tracking for the first 12 months – no subscription math, no surprise charges. For owners who refuse to sign up for yet another recurring plan, this is the clear winner and the only true GPS tracker here that is subscription-free in year one. Two honest checks before you buy: what the service model looks like after year one (not stated in the title – verify in the listing), and the collar's weight and fit for your cat. It's designed for cats and small dogs, so larger cats are the sweet spot.

    Pros
  • 1 year of service included – no monthly fees
  • Perfect 5.0★ average from nearly 5,000 verified reviews
  • Real-time GPS, geofence alerts and activity tracking
  • Waterproof collar design
    Cons
  • Higher upfront price than trackers with a free trial
  • Service terms after year one aren't in the title – check the listing
  • Bulkier than micro trackers; best for larger cats
Check price on Amazon →
2

AirTag Cat Collar with Hidden Holder & Bell

Best Budget – $0 per Month, Forever
AirTag Cat Collar with Hidden Holder and Bell
$30–50Needs Apple AirTag (not included)Coin-cell battery (~1 year)Reflective breakaway collar
Price range
$30–50
Subscription
None – uses Apple Find My

★ 4.3/5 from 12,802 verified Amazon reviews – by far the most-reviewed product in this analysis. Strictly speaking, this is not a GPS tracker: it's a breakaway collar with a hidden holder for an Apple AirTag, which you buy separately (around $29–35). Instead of GPS and cellular, it uses Apple's Find My network: whenever your cat is near any iPhone, iPad, or Mac, the AirTag's location quietly updates to your phone. For a neighborhood cat in a built-up area, this is astonishing value – no subscription, no charging, and about a year of battery from a roughly $5 coin cell. The honest limits: no live real-time tracking between Apple-device encounters, no geofence escape alerts, and if your cat wanders somewhere with no Apple devices around, you're blind until they come back.

    Pros
  • Cheapest complete setup by far (collar + AirTag)
  • No subscription, ever – Apple's Find My network is free
  • Coin-cell battery lasts about a year, no charging
  • Reflective breakaway collar with hidden AirTag holder
    Cons
  • AirTag not included – add ~$29–35
  • No real-time location between Apple-device encounters
  • Useless in areas with no iPhones nearby
Check price on Amazon →

When a Subscription Is Actually Worth It

If your cat roams far, crosses roads, or lives somewhere rural, the no-subscription options above have real limits. An AirTag only reports near Apple devices. A bundled-service collar gives you a year, then asks you to renew. So when does paying monthly genuinely make sense – and not just feel like a trap?

A subscription earns its keep when the feature it unlocks is the whole reason you bought a tracker. That is true in a few specific situations:

What a subscription is not worth paying for: features you'll never use. If your cat naps in the same three gardens and comes home for dinner, you're paying for live tracking you don't need. And remember the honest arithmetic – the subscription, not the device, is the real bill. If the plan costs roughly $10 a month, you're spending about $120 a year to keep the tracker alive, which is why we lay out the two-year totals below before you commit.

3

Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker

Best Live Tracking – Subscription After 6 Months
Tractive Smart Cat GPS Tracker
$60–806 months free, then mandatory subscriptionUp to 5-day batteryFor cats 6.5 lbs+
Price range
$60–80
Subscription
6 months included, then required

★ 3.8/5 from 3,493 verified Amazon reviews. Tractive is the biggest name in pet GPS tracking, and this cat-specific version is the most complete tracker in this analysis: live real-time location, territory and location history, activity and wellness monitoring, and a geofence that alerts you when your cat leaves a safe zone. The 6-month subscription included in the price is the longest free trial in the category. Here's the honest part, though: after the 6 free months, a paid subscription is mandatory – the tracker doesn't work without it. That ongoing cost is the most common complaint among the 3.8★ reviews, alongside battery life that doesn't always hit the advertised 5 days. If live tracking matters more to you than zero monthly fees, this is the one to get – go in with open eyes about the recurring cost. (A version with a breakaway collar included is also available – same tracker, ready to wear out of the box.)

    Pros
  • True live GPS with real-time location updates
  • Territory history + geofence escape alerts
  • 6-month subscription included – longest free trial here
  • Lightweight and purpose-built for cats 6.5 lbs+
    Cons
  • Subscription is mandatory after the 6 free months
  • 3.8★ average – owners report battery shorter than advertised and app issues
  • Recharging every few days is a real routine
Check price on Amazon →

Watch Out: LandAirSea 54 Looks Subscription-Free, But Isn't

The LandAirSea 54 is a superb tracker – for vehicles, luggage, and large pets. It also shows up constantly in "no subscription" searches, because its long battery life and rugged design make people assume there are no strings attached. There are. The Amazon listing title itself ends with "Subscription Required". If your goal is zero recurring fees, this device fails the filter – we're flagging it so you don't find out after checkout.

4

LandAirSea 54 GPS Tracker

Long Battery – but Subscription Required
LandAirSea 54 GPS Tracker
$90–110Subscription requiredLong battery (weeks)Waterproof + magnetic
Price range
$90–110
Subscription
Required – per listing title

★ 4.1/5 from 3,876 verified Amazon reviews. The LandAirSea 54 is the battery champion here: where live trackers need charging every few days, this device runs for weeks on a charge – which is why it's a favorite for vehicles and luggage. It's waterproof, has a magnetic mount, and tracks globally. But for this guide, the verdict is simple: the tracking service requires a subscription, so it's not a no-subscription option, and at roughly 2.3 oz (about 66 g) it's also heavy for a typical house cat. It belongs on a shortlist only if you have a very large cat and accept both the subscription and the weight.

    Pros
  • Battery life measured in weeks, not days
  • Waterproof and rugged – handles any weather
  • Global tracking coverage
    Cons
  • Subscription required – fails the no-fee filter
  • Heavy for most cats – better for large cats or small dogs
  • Not a collar design – needs DIY mounting on a harness
Check price on Amazon →

Also in our full GPS analysis: two more trackers we compared in our complete GPS tracker guide – the Tractive with breakaway collar (same tracker as #3, plus a safety collar) and the Averia Collar, a well-reviewed GPS and activity tracker whose subscription terms are not stated in the listing title. For both, "no monthly fees" cannot be assumed – verify the service model in the listing. They're covered in detail there.

At a Glance: The Options Compared

ModelUpfront PriceSubscription?Best for
Pet GPS Tracker Collar$90–1301 year included – no monthly feesNo-subscription real GPS
AirTag Cat Collar (+ AirTag)$60–85 totalNo – Find My networkBudget, neighborhood cats
Tractive Smart Cat$60–80Yes – mandatory after 6 free monthsLive real-time tracking
LandAirSea 54$90–110Yes – per listing titleLong battery (large pets)

The True Cost Over Two Years

The sticker price is the headline; the service cost is the real bill. Here's what each path from this page roughly costs to own for two years. These are representative estimates based on typical pricing and the way these product types usually bill – confirm current prices and terms on the listing, because plan pricing changes and annual plans usually cost less per month than monthly ones.

Option (on this page)DeviceService (2 years)Est. 2-year total
AirTag Cat Collar path$60–85 (collar + AirTag)None – one ~$5 coin cell/yr~$70–90
Pet GPS Tracker Collar (included service)$90–130Year 1 included; year-2 renewal unknown~$110–240
Tractive Smart Cat (subscription)$60–80~18 months of plan after 6 free months~$180–320
LandAirSea 54 (subscription)$90–110Required monthly plan (~2 years)~$450–700

Est. 2-year totals are illustrative, not quotes. They use common plan prices for this class of device; your actual cost depends on the plan length you choose and current listing terms. The Pet GPS Tracker Collar's year-two terms are not stated in its listing title – verify before buying.

The takeaway: the AirTag path is the cheapest route by a wide margin – roughly $70–90 for two years, mostly the one-time hardware. The included-service collar sits in the middle: more than an AirTag, but with real live GPS and no monthly fee in year one. The subscription devices cost the most, and the gap only widens the longer you keep them. Choose based on the two-year number, not the sticker – a cheaper device on a monthly plan can end up costing several times more.

Hidden Fees to Watch For

"No monthly fees" is a claim, not a guarantee. Before you trust any listing – including the ones on this page – run it through this checklist:

None of these are dealbreakers – they're just the details that decide what "no subscription" really costs you by year two. Read them, then compare the total.

Which One Should You Buy?

Choose a no-subscription tracker if…

Accept a subscription if…

Two rules apply to every option: keep the total collar weight under roughly 30 g (about 1 oz) for most cats, and always use a breakaway collar so your cat can never get hung up on a branch or fence. Weight and safety matter more than any feature on the spec sheet. For a wider field of options – including paid live trackers and indoor-cat picks – see our full GPS tracker guide and our guide to GPS trackers for indoor cats.

FAQ

Do all cat GPS trackers need a subscription?

No. There are three models: trackers that bundle the service into the price (like the Pet GPS Tracker Collar, which includes 1 year of service with no monthly fees), trackers that use Apple's Find My network instead of cellular (like an AirTag collar, which needs no subscription at all), and true cellular GPS trackers (like Tractive and LandAirSea 54) that require a paid plan. Read the subscription terms before you buy – they are the single biggest hidden cost in this category.

How does an AirTag collar work without subscription?

An AirTag collar pairs the AirTag with your iPhone and uses Apple's Find My network instead of GPS and cellular. Whenever your cat passes within Bluetooth range of any iPhone, iPad, or Mac, the AirTag's location quietly updates to your phone – free of charge, forever. You only pay for the collar and the AirTag itself; the battery is a roughly $5 coin cell that lasts about a year.

What's the cheapest way to track an outdoor cat?

An AirTag in a breakaway cat collar. The collar costs roughly $30–50 and the AirTag about $29–35, and there is no subscription and no charging – just a coin-cell battery swap about once a year. That makes it by far the cheapest long-term setup for a neighborhood cat that stays within range of other people's Apple devices. The trade-off: no live real-time tracking and no coverage in areas without nearby Apple devices.

Is Tractive subscription-free?

No. Tractive includes 6 months of subscription with the tracker, but after that a paid plan is mandatory – the tracker does not work without it. That subscription cost is the most common complaint among the 3.8-star owner reviews. If you want Tractive's live real-time tracking, budget for the ongoing plan; if you refuse monthly fees, choose a bundled-service collar or an AirTag setup instead.

Does the Pet GPS Tracker Collar have monthly fees?

Not in the first year: the Amazon listing explicitly states "1 year service included, no monthly fees". You pay once and get real-time GPS, geofence alerts, and activity tracking for 12 months. What happens after year one is not stated in the title, so check the current listing's renewal terms before you buy – that is the one detail to verify.

What is the real 2-year cost of a no-subscription cat tracker?

Work out the cost over two years, not the sticker price. A $70 tracker with a $10/month plan costs about $310 over two years. A $110 collar with one year of service included costs $110 plus whatever year-two terms are. An AirTag setup costs about $60–85 upfront and roughly $5 per year after that. The cheapest device is rarely the cheapest over time.

Which GPS tracker has no monthly fee?

Two options on this page genuinely have no monthly fee. The Pet GPS Tracker Collar includes 1 year of service with no monthly fees – you pay once and the first 12 months are covered. An AirTag collar has no subscription at all, ever, because it uses Apple's free Find My network instead of cellular. Everything else – Tractive and the LandAirSea 54 – requires a paid plan at some point.

Are there truly free GPS trackers?

No hardware is literally free, but the recurring cost can be zero. The closest thing to a "free" tracker is an AirTag collar: you buy the collar and an AirTag once, then the only ongoing cost is a roughly $5 coin cell about once a year. There is no such thing as free live GPS, though – real-time tracking sends data over cellular networks, and somebody always pays for that data, which is exactly why true GPS trackers charge a plan.

Does an AirTag need a subscription?

No. An AirTag has no subscription of any kind. It reports its location through Apple's Find My network, which is free, and it runs on a user-replaceable coin-cell battery that lasts about a year. The only costs are the AirTag itself (about $29–35), the collar to hold it, and the occasional battery. The trade-off is coverage: an AirTag only updates when your cat passes near an Apple device.

What happens after the 1-year included service on the Pet GPS Tracker Collar?

The Amazon listing title states "1 year service included, no monthly fees" but does not spell out the year-two terms. In practice, bundled-service collars of this type usually ask you to renew the tracking service once the included year ends – commonly at a yearly or monthly rate – or the live tracking simply stops while the collar hardware keeps working. Because the title doesn't state it, treat the renewal price as the one detail to confirm in the current listing before you buy, and compare that renewal against a Plan B like an AirTag collar.

Bottom Line

If your goal is a GPS tracker for cats without subscription, there are exactly two honest answers in this analysis. The Pet GPS Tracker Collar is the best no-monthly-fee option with real GPS tracking – 1 year of service included, a perfect 5.0★ from nearly 5,000 verified reviews, and no subscription math for 12 months. The AirTag Cat Collar is the cheapest way to track a neighborhood cat forever: no subscription, no charging, and about $5 per year after the initial setup.

Everything else in this category is a compromise with fine print. Tractive offers the best live tracking but demands a subscription after 6 months. LandAirSea 54 requires a subscription too, despite how it appears in search results. Weigh the two-year total, read the renewal terms, keep the collar under 30 g with a breakaway clasp – and you'll get years of peace of mind, without a single surprise charge.

How we picked: data, not sponsored placements

This guide is researched and maintained by the LimeCats editorial team. We rank products from verified owner reviews, published specifications and real owner feedback — no sponsored picks, no payment from brands. Flaws are included, not buried. See our methodology →